Suburbs in the Federal Electorate of Hughes

Craig at Fruitshop



  • Kelly, C (LP) 2010 –

  • Vale, D (LP) 1996 – 2010

  • Tickner, R E (ALP) 1984 – 1996

  • Johnson, L R (ALP) 1969 – 1983

  • Dobie, J D (LP) 1966 – 1969

  • Johnson, L R (ALP) 1955 – 1966

Alfords Point, Bangor, Barden Ridge, Bundeena, Como, Engadine, Gymea (parts), Grays Point, Hammondville, Heathcote, Holsworthy, Illawong, Jannali, Kareela, Kirrawee, Loftus, Maianbar, Menai, Moorebank, Pleasure Point, Sandy Point, Sutherland, Voyager Point, Woronora, Waterfall, Wattle Grove and Yarrawarrah.

Previous members to represent the seat of Hughes include:

Hughes Map
William Hughes

About Hughes

The Hughes electorate was first established in 1955 and named after William Hughes (1862–1952), who was the Prime Minister of Australia from 1915-1923.

Hughes is bound by Georges River, Newbridge Road and Davy Robinson Drive in the north, Liverpool City Council and Sutherland Shire Council in the west and south, follows Georges River, Oyster Bay, Kareela Golf Course, Box Road, Princes Highway, Kingsway, Hotham Road, North West Arm Road, Dent Creek and the Hacking River in the east. The main suburbs include Alfords Point, Bangor, Barden Ridge, Bundeena, Como, Engadine, Grays Point, Heathcote, Illawong, Kareela, Kirrawee, Lucas Heights, Maianbar, Menai, Moorebank, Sandy Point, Sutherland, Waterfall and Wattle Grove.

Hughes is home to over 140,000 people and features an atomic reactor, light manufacturing industries, army barracks and a military reserve.